Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – Response (No Spoilers)

Author’s Note: I had a very hard time writing this. Consequently, the following post has the feel of a response, rather than my typical review, but it has no spoilers, unlike my usual responses.

tinker tailor soldier spyReleased: 2011

Director: Tomas Alfredson

This movie is not like most other movies. I would argue that this movie is more like a book than a movie. Whereas you can passively consume most movies, you need to actively engage in most books. This movie requires a very attentive audience in order to follow its twists and turns. Even knowing that it was going to be difficult to understand, I struggled to make it through. I had trouble recognizing George Smiley (Gary Oldman), and so kept thinking that another character was being introduced. I couldn’t remember everyone’s full names, and so kept getting confused about who was being talked about. I’m still not sure I have everything straight. I’m told that after another couple viewings I’ll understand it completely, and I believe that, but I don’t have that sort of time to invest in this movie.

The back cover of the DVD reads “set at the height of the Cold War, this gripping thriller follows retired agent George Smiley (Oldman), recently forced out from the Secret Intelligence Service, a.k.a. The Circus. Smiley finds himself sucked back into the shady world of espionage when he is contacted with information that The Circus has been infiltrated by a Soviet double agent. Unsure of who he can trust and with national security and the fate of the country in the balance, Smiley must work in secret to flush out the mole.” Like many DVD covers, this is a little misleading. The movie is not that exciting. While I believe that “national security and the fate of the country” were in the balance, I just didn’t see it in the movie. After it was over, I found myself asking “so what?” It did not seem like catching the mole made anyone particularly happy, or that anything would actually change. Everyone was still as grumpy and terse as they were at the beginning.

And maybe that’s where I disconnect from this movie. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t regret watching it and I understand that it’s a very well executed movie. But maybe it’s too much like a real spy intrigue would be in the real world; kinda boring, very slow, no grand dramatic finish.

Although, even that’s not quite right. There was a dramatic ending, and the characters did experience deep, powerful emotions. I just didn’t connect with them emotionally. I didn’t care about any of the characters, because I knew very little about any of them. The long set-up and laborious network of carefully drawn out backstory did its job in keeping the spy hidden, but it also kept me disconnected from all of the characters.

Ultimately, this movie was good, just a lot of hard work. I wish I had the time to watch it two or three more times in order to do it the justice it deserves. If you’re considering watching this movie, make sure you have the energy to actively watch, and maybe look up the cast on IMDB so you know their names beforehand. That will definitely give you a head start to understanding this plot. If you’re willing to put in the hard work needed to enjoy this movie, it really is very good. The end sequence is phenomenal. You just need to commit.

Leave a comment